Researching with young people in sport using participatory approaches

Staff and Students are invited to attend a research seminar on Wednesday 28 June 2017. This will take place in EE1057 between 1pm – 2pm.

Dr Hayley Fitzgerald
Visiting Professor

“I’m nervous about going into the school today. I feel totally unprepared. I think I’m just going to have to wing it”. On reading this account from my research diary you may think I’m a disorganised researcher. Surely no well-trained researcher worth their salt would go into the field so unprepared? I suspect though, for those who have attempted to research with young people using participatory approaches, there may be a seed of familiarity with my musings. By drawing on accounts found in my research diary I offer some preliminary thoughts about working with participatory and messy methods. In exploring the possibilities and challenges of participatory research I will discuss four issues: ‘what is participation?’; ‘where’s the data?’; ‘time’, and ‘exhilarated and exhausted’.

 

Leave a Reply

